The Kubler-Ross model of being a Texan fan

Discussion in 'Texans Talk' started by drewmar74, Nov 23, 2009.

  1. drewmar74

    drewmar74 disgruntled

    Dec 22, 2006
    Likes Received:
    Bayou Country
    1. Denial — "We'll go 12-4 even with this loss."; "This can't be happening, not to my Texans."

    Denial is usually only a temporary defense for the Texan fan. This feeling is generally replaced with heightened awareness of situations and individuals that will be left behind after the playoffs start and we're not in it.

    2. Anger — "Why did he miss the EFFIN KICK? It's not fair!"; "How can Slaton fumble again?"; "Kubes is to blame!"

    Once in the second stage, the Texan fan recognizes that denial cannot continue. Because of anger, the fan is very difficult to watch games with due to misplaced feelings of rage and envy. Any individual that symbolizes a team that might make the playoffs is subject to projected resentment and jealousy.

    3. Bargaining — "Just let me live to see my Texans sweep the division."; "I'll do anything for a home playoff game."; "I will give my life savings if Kris Brown will make this kick..."

    The third stage involves the hope that the Texan fan can somehow postpone or delay getting rolled out of playoff contention. Usually, the negotiation for an extended season is made with a higher power in exchange for a reformed lifestyle. Psychologically, the person is saying, "I understand the Texans will suck, but if I could just have more game...."

    4. Depression — "I'm so sad about another choke at home, why bother with watching?"; "We're not going to the playoffs. . . What's the point?"

    During the fourth stage, the Texan fan begins to understand the certainty of missing the playoffs. Because of this, the individual may become silent, refuse to watch games and spend much of the time crying and throwing remotes. This process allows the Texan fan to disconnect from watching other teams march into postseason glory. It is not recommended to attempt to cheer up a Texan fan who is in this stage. It is an important time for grieving that must be processed.

    5. Acceptance — "It's going to be okay if we're 8-8 again."; "I can't fight it, I may as well pull for the Saints."

    This final stage comes with peace and understanding of the missed playoffs that is approaching. Generally, the Texan fan in the fifth stage will want to be left alone on Sundays. Additionally, feelings and physical pain may be non-existent. This stage has also been described as the end of the regular season.

    What stage are you in? I fluctuate in between 3 and 5. I guess I'm still in the grieving process.

Share This Page