First Play of the Game: Illegal Formation?

Discussion in 'Texans Talk' started by roooshi, Dec 13, 2012.

  1. roooshi

    roooshi #Demaryius2HOU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    6
    Can someone please explain to me how Duane Brown was in illegal formation on the first play?

    The announcers even criticized the call by the refs.
    This also negated a 15 yard run by foster to set the mood for the game.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Mr.Scarface

    Mr.Scarface Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    5
    Brown is NOT covered up. The texans only have 6 on the line, instead of the required 7. Walter needed to move up a step to cover up Brown.
     
  3. roooshi

    roooshi #Demaryius2HOU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    6
    This was the next play of the game. So how was he whistled for illegal formation the first play (is that was illegal to begin with) and then not whistled here?

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Mr.Scarface

    Mr.Scarface Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    5
    [​IMG]

    Picture above.....As you see, Walter is off the line and Brown is uncovered. Look at AJ at the bottom, he covers the RT.

    [​IMG]

    As you see in this picture, both Tackles are covered by a WR or TE. 7 players have to be on the line of scrimmage and the offensive linemen have to be covered, unless they announce they are eligible to the Ref. So, this formation is legal.
     
  5. CretorFrigg

    CretorFrigg Fire Rick Smith

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,085
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Texas
    Let's just call a spade a spade. That was a terrible call.
     
  6. Mr.Scarface

    Mr.Scarface Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    5
    Did u look at the picture? It was a correct call....lol
     
  7. sportfan73

    sportfan73 Rookie

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    3
    hah damnit I was pissed at this call, but now seeing the pics it was just the refs calling the wrong number really, Walter wasn't on the line.

    I was just thinking they thought Brown was too far off the line, but usually they'll warn you once about that, so I was raging mad. But yea, only 6 on the line, good call. Shame on Walter, he had a rough night.
     
    thunderkyss likes this.
  8. thunderkyss

    thunderkyss Salem Poor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    39,292
    Likes Received:
    1,862
    Location:
    Texas
    That run only went for 12 yards. The next play Foster made it all up, gaining 15 yards on that run.

    We've got a thread in the NFL section to talk about the rule.
     


  9. CretorFrigg

    CretorFrigg Fire Rick Smith

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,085
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Texas
    I did see the picture, but almost always, the referee tells the WR to move up before the ball is snapped, so teams rarely ever get flagged for it.
     
  10. Vinny

    Vinny shiny happy fan Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    21,847
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    football 101. Hell they get this right in Jr High. Perhaps those letter jackets took up too much mental room to get the formation right on the first play of the game.
     
  11. Big Lou

    Big Lou Stop Clowning

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3,448
    Likes Received:
    236
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    Thats OK that fugged up plenty other calls, like not calling almost identical blocks in the back on a return for the Pats, not calling PI on the Pats on two plays, a BS PI on Manning, and no call for hitting a defenseless WR that bieng Jean.

    Oh and Brady is a little B*tch, getting up wanting a flag for helmet to helmet when he ducked in to the hit. Suprised the Ref didn't throw the flag.
     

Share This Page