Death to Google Ads! Texans Talk Tip Jar! 🍺😎👍
Thanks for your support!

4th Round pick, Tyler Ervin RB San Jose St.

This could explain to some extent why they opted to release him. Carter recorded a not dissimilar 4.44 40-time back in 2015, so should be useful as a return man. Also, he is an out and out receiver. This allows the Texans to backup Coutee, who has been in and out of the side due to injuries, with a genuine receiver as opposed to Ervin who was a running back by trade.

Link

My preference in Billings hasn't done much in Cincy either.

If this is to make room for Foreman coming back from Achilles surgery and who some were saying was in bad playing shape ... I scratch my head.

Looks like another Ricky draft and to think he was here for 12 yrs and 2 regimes.

No rhyme or reason to his selections. Ervin looked like a Darren Sproles type prospect in college but it clearly didn’t work out. But the Braxton Miller project player in 3rd round when the team had needs for more polished prospects was even worse.

Add in that they already had taken Will Fuller round 1 and the needs of the team at the time hindsight being 20/20 draft capital could have been better used elsewhere.

My preference in Billings hasn't done much in Cincy either.

If this is to make room for Foreman coming back from Achilles surgery and who some were saying was in bad playing shape ... I scratch my head.

I think this has more to do with backing up Coutee than it implies Foreman is coming back. Even without Ervin and Foreman we still have 3 RBs on our 53, without Coutee we had no true slot once we let Bruce go

A little surprised by this move, as he was having a decent season as a returner. #9 in yards per kickoff return, #15 in yards per punt return. And most importantly, zero turnovers.

I feel Tyler never got a shot to find his potential here. Similar to Lamar, he needs to get the ball in space, but the few reps he’d get to play RB, BOB would have him run between the tackles.