Was Deandre Hopkins' TD reception an incomplete pass?

Discussion in 'Texans Talk' started by avb, Aug 12, 2013.

  1. avb

    avb Rookie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Deandre Hopkins made a heck of a catch, and everyone knows he made a clean grab. But the defender knocked the ball out of his hands while he was still on the ground before he could get up. Does the Calvin Johnson rule apply here if it was a real game? Since it was preseason the outcome didn't matter but at least we were able to see his talents.

    I apologize if this has already been discussed. This is my first time to the forum in many months. Go Texans!
     
  2. Rey

    Rey Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14,475
    Likes Received:
    671
    Ball was knocked out after he had already caught the ball, and maintained possession through the fall.

    TD.

    Calvin Johnson put the ball on the ground which could be see as using the ground to secure possession. Not the same thing.
     
  3. Blake

    Blake MMQB

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    11,222
    Likes Received:
    624
    Location:
    Spring
    I considered this question right after the catch. I say catch with plays like this because DH caught the ball in the field of play and took across goal line. CJ play and others where they must maintain ball throughout catch and to the ground start and end already in the end zone.
     
  4. ThaJokaa

    ThaJokaa True Texans Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    NW Houston
    It's a catch, He secured the ball in the air, stepped into the Endzone, fell, and THEN the was knocked lose. Had he caught it, and the ball was knocked loose as he was falling to the ground or got loose as he landed then he failed to control the ball and he didn't "complete" the catch so it would've been ruled as incomplete. At least that's how I see its someone correct me if I'm wrong...
     
  5. HOU-TEX

    HOU-TEX Ah, Football!

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Messages:
    16,152
    Likes Received:
    1,091
    Location:
    P-land
    No...
     
  6. Playoffs

    Playoffs Subscribed Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    20,268
    Likes Received:
    1,251
    [​IMG]

    [IMGwidthsize=100]http://northsiderotary.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/ref.jpg[/IMG]
     
  7. Fili

    Fili All Pro

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    DeAndre Hopkins' hair
    In the gif you can see DH securing the ball with his right hand then attempts to hold the ball up to show that he caught the ball. He switched the ball from his right to left hand.
     
  8. Hervoyel

    Hervoyel The Right Track

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    15,612
    Likes Received:
    2,395
    I could very easily be wrong here but I thought that if he caught the ball before crossing the line of scrimmage then all he needed to do at that point was break the plane and it was a TD. That's opposed to a WR going up into the air in the end zone to catch the ball. Then wouldn't he be under more scrutiny as far as maintaining possession all the way through the play.
     


  9. Vance87

    Vance87 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,856
    Likes Received:
    232
    He has to control the ball all the way to the ground. He did this. In the gif it gets knocked out of his hand by the DB well after he's on the ground. TD
     
  10. Corrosion

    Corrosion Idealist

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    33,245
    Likes Received:
    1,415
    Location:
    Northwest Houston
    I had the same thought .... HE's already caught the ball , once he crosses the goal line the play is over.

    Remember the "non-fumble" on the QB sneak by HWWNBM a few years back , he stuck the ball across the goal line - play is over.
     
  11. Vance87

    Vance87 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,856
    Likes Received:
    232
    I think it's different for a catch. Remember Jean's catch in the 2012 opener against Miami? It was called a TD on the field but it was overturned because he didn't control the ball all the way to the ground, even though he went over the goal line with it.

    In this case, Hopkins did, and only after that did the DB knock the ball out of his hands as he was trying to raise it up.
     
  12. thunderkyss

    thunderkyss Salem Poor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    38,898
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Texas
    The important thing is that he had possession before going into the endzone.

    Once he crosses that line, it doesn't matter what happens.
     
  13. DocBar

    DocBar Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    9,984
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    I'm international
    I was more concerned with the ref calling offensive PI when DH used his left hand on the CB's shoulder pad to help elevate himself. I think he got away with that part because he didn't redirect the CB but I'm not sure. There's not enough consistency on PI calls across the league for me to get a good handle on what is or isn't PI.
     
  14. PapaL

    PapaL Loose Screw

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    14,342
    Likes Received:
    837
    Location:
    Maryland
    As soon as he crossed the plane of the endzone with possession, the play was over.

    Calvin Johnson play was different in that he caught the ball in the endzone and needed to secure it. He caught it and put it on the ground; nullifying his catch.

    Arian Foster was screwed out of a rushing touchdown once due to this rule being incorrectly enforced.
     
  15. Rey

    Rey Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14,475
    Likes Received:
    671
    To me the catch rules are a little fuzzy. I don't think that's a catch simply because he crossed the goal line. I think he had to maintain possession through the fall. If he were making a catch on the sideline going out of bounds he'd have to maintain possession through the fall as well.

    I think that's why the ref waited until he went to the ground to make the call.

    If all you had to do was have possession as you crossed the goal line that would mean you could catch the ball in the air, cross the GL fall down and immediately lose the ball or even lose it before hitting the ground and it'd still be a TD. But I don't think that's the case.
     
  16. CloakNNNdagger

    CloakNNNdagger Site Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    17,209
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    I was sure that they were going to call PI. But they didn't. As one of the announcers mentioned, it appeared that Deandre's back blocked the ref from "appreciating" his hand on the defender. Deandre got away with one.
     
  17. PapaL

    PapaL Loose Screw

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    14,342
    Likes Received:
    837
    Location:
    Maryland
    The rules are different for catching the ball in the endzone compared to running into the endzone.

    In Nuk's case, the catch was established and he made a football move meaning he was now a runner, not a reciever. Once the ball breaks the plane, the play is over.

    The example you used happened all the time. WR catches the ball, put's ball out towards pylon, gets popped and drops the ball.
     
  18. thunderkyss

    thunderkyss Salem Poor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    38,898
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Texas
    It's not a catch if his feet aren't on the ground. So if he's in the air, catches the ball, cross the goal line.... he's got to establish himself in the field of play, get two feet down, maintain possession all the way to the ground.

    If he catches the ball & his knee comes down on the goal line.... that's a catch. nothing after matters & that's what happened.


    But the ref did wait, so you're probably more right than me.
     
  19. Rey

    Rey Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    14,475
    Likes Received:
    671
    He didn't make a football move. He caught the ball, took two stumbling steps and fell.

    And you misunderstood my example. I'm talking about catching the ball in the air like Hopkins did but not getting a foot down. Crossing the GL in the air.

    Because he was going to the ground he needed to keep possession. Goal line or no goal line. Doesn't matter where you are, you have to complete the catch.
     
  20. thunderkyss

    thunderkyss Salem Poor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    38,898
    Likes Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Texas
    Here's the official rule

     

Share This Page