UFL to be NFL Minor League Farm???

Discussion in 'The National Football League' started by CloakNNNdagger, Jun 7, 2009.

1. CloakNNNdagger

CloakNNNdagger Site Contributor

Could there actually be an covert "arrangement" of "non-compete" between the UFL and the NFL? In light of the loss of the NFLE, could the NFL actually support the establishment of the UFL as a "developmental league" with a wink-wink here, and a wink-wink there..........and maybe a couple of bucks under table. Hmmm.

[LINK]

2. WWJD

WWJD Hall of Fame

4 franchises? That's just nothing...wouldn't seem to be much excitement just having the same 4 teams play over and over.

Not that I hope for failure. I've always enjoyed football in any form but 4 teams?

3. Speedy

Speedy Yeller Dweller

I've been preaching for a couple of years now that the NFL should keep the NFL Europe idea, but do it right here in the good ol USA. Right here where fans are starving for football and where we can get a whole lot more and better coverage than we got across the pond. Put it in cities like San Antonio, OKC, Vegas, Portland, Louisville, San Jose, Salt Lake, Memphis, Orlando, Katy, etc. Cities that don't have an NFL team and big enough to support it like those mentioned. Hell, maybe even Los Angeles could finally get a team.

I don't know why, with the NFL's backing, that they wouldn't do something like that. As big as minor league baseball is, I don't see why a 12 team or so, developmental league to the NFL couldn't do as well or better.

It'd sure give the NFL Network something to do in the off-season.

4. Giant Tiger

Giant Tiger Hall of Fame

Smiths Falls, Heart of the Rideau Canal-UNESCO Wor
    I've wondered about "farm leagues" before. If 2 or more NFL teams "share" a farm team... then are they helping an opponent? Let's say the best QB on the
    farm team is being groomed by a particular team; what does it benefit the other team(s) for that QB to play? :thinking:

5. CloakNNNdagger