So there is this controversy about the touchdown from Big Ben to Santonio Holmes. Holmes caught the ball with two feet in the endzone but it appears the ball never crossed (or touched) the plane of the endzone. I understand the rule that the ball has to cross the front of the endzone but aren't there other instances where there's a TD when that doesn't happen? Hypothetically: 1. If Slaton is running for the corner of the endzone and runs though the very front corner but the ball is extended over the outside of the pilon (out of bounds), is that still a touchdown? He had complete control of the ball and possession of the ball while in the endzone, but the ball never crossed the plane. 2. What if Schaub throws a bullet to AJ on the side of the endzone. AJ is leaning out of bounds but has both tip toes in the endzone. Essentially its a sideline catch but for a TD. Technically the ball crosses the plane, but AJ didn't have control of the ball. He only gained control when the ball crossed the side plane of the endzone to go out of bounds. AJ managed to maintain possession of the ball while he was in the endzone although the ball was not. 3. Goes right along with #2 but is a what if that will rarely ever happen. Same exact play but Schaub throws is while being chased out of bounds. He jumps out of bound and throws it so the ball is never in the field of play but traveling horizontally to the out of bounds line (while out of bounds). AJ make the exact same catch where the ball never crossed the endzone inside the pilon. What happens here? I understand the ruling on the field but the way I see it, the player maintained possession of the ball while two feet were in the endzone. In this case, I don't think the ball ever has to cross the the front of the endzone. Again though, a rule is a rule if it specifically states the ball has to cross the front no matter what. In any case, whether it was for a touchdown or just a catch... that was a hell of a catch.