Shiloh Keo

Discussion in 'Texans Talk' started by 76Texan, May 8, 2011.

1. 76Texan

76Texan Hall of Fame

The 3 games I watched for the 2010 season were against Nebraska (2nd week), Louisiana Tech (7th week) and Boise St. (11th week).

Keo played mostly as a SS.
    In addition, he would come down on the slot and the TE.

I don't see negativity in his coverage skill; he was almost always where he was supposed to be.

The biggest flaw I saw was in his tackling, which is quite common in secondary players.
    I had noted similar things in Earl Thomas, Joe Haden, McCourty, Kyle Wilson etc. in the previous draft and the same in several players in this draft (2011).

Obviously, I'm not an expert in techniques, but I do watch a lot of videos on the drills and read up on them as well.
    It's understandable that college players still need to improve on their techniques to become better players in the pros.

Anyway, back to the games: The opponents laid 38, 48, and 52 points on Idaho so you can assume the worst.
    Hiowever, I would say that Keo would be the last one to blame, especially in coverage.

Next came the East-West Shriner game (in which Wade coached).
    Keo played very well both downhill and in coverage to earn the praises from the NFL Network guys (Charles and Mayock) during the broadcast and later on at the combine.
    He was also the first to volunteer in all special team activities.

At the NFL combine, he got a handshake from Deon Sanders and a reporrted hug from the same to go with a compliment "I like you" that sort of thing.

http://www.nfl.com/videos/nfl-combine/09000d5d81e8cd4f/Best-Value-Day-4-Shiloh-Keo

Here's a podcast if you have time to listen:
    http://www.blogtalkradio.com/all-access-football/2011/04/02/player-spotlight-s-shiloh-keo-idaho

I will have a few more notes to come.

kiwitexansfan likes this.
  2. Lucky

Lucky Moderator