Restricted Free Agents

Discussion in 'The National Football League' started by JayCee, Mar 21, 2008.

  1. JayCee

    JayCee Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    I was trying to figure out the rules behind restricted free agents, but I'm confused on one point.

    If a player doesn't receive a 'qualifying offer' from his current club (and no offers from other teams) then does the player just receive his 4th year salary in his original contract?
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Restricted_free_agent
     
  2. infantrycak

    infantrycak Mod. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    54,999
    Likes Received:
    2,615
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    RFA is kind of like the Holy Hand Grenade--thou shalt proceedeth to 3, not 4, and 5 is right out.

    Your scenario assumes the player has a contract in excess of three years. A RFA is a player who has three (exactly) accrued seasons and is not under contract. So a player on year three of a four year contract is not a RFA and never will be one. At the end of his contract he will be UFA.
     
  3. JayCee

    JayCee Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    well there you go, after your explanation it makes perfect sense.
    i though they were still under contract, which is why i was confused.

    thanks.
     

Share This Page