Quick question about kickoff to end Dallas/Arizona game

Discussion in 'The National Football League' started by midway, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. midway

    midway Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    14
    Since the ball was so close to the sideline, could Newman have stepped out of bounds and then picked up the ball, triggering the "out of bound kickoff" rule? Common sense tells me "of course not", but life has taught me that common sense isn't usually considered in the rule making process.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2010
  2. STEEL BLUE TEXANS

    STEEL BLUE TEXANS Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,838
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Sugar Land, Texas
    Yes. I remember the exact same thing happening in a Ravens vs Redskins game a few years back.
     
  3. Dutchrudder

    Dutchrudder COOL BEANS!

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    15,064
    Likes Received:
    1,332
    Location:
    Houston
    As long as the ball has not been touched by a player, yes you can. In fact, if he has one foot out of bounds while catching the ball in bounds, it is still illegal procedure.
     

Share This Page