Plaxico OK with veteran Minimum???

Discussion in 'The National Football League' started by ArlingtonTexan, Aug 9, 2012.

1. ArlingtonTexan

ArlingtonTexan Moderator Staff Member

2. JB

JB Old Curmudgeon

Interesting. Is there a reason that the Texans wouldn't bring him in to compete with B. Johnson and the youngsters? Can't really hurt can it?

3. hobie

hobie Site Contributor

I have been saying for the last 2 months to go look at this guy...heck, at league minimum for a vet, throw in some language in the contract to protect yourself, line him up across from AJ and have fun in the red zone !! He doesn't need to have blazing speed, just hands to catch the jump balls !!

4. Double Barrel

Double Barrel Modified Simian

He really wanted to play for the Texans last year. I don't see how it would hurt to bring him in for evaluation, but obvious the Texans FO sees it different than us.

5. Section516

Section516 Warrior

I thought the reason he was unsigned was due to wanting too much $$$$. If he wants vet min, hasn't had a training injury..Why haven't we at least tried him out? Even if all he did was inside the 20's.

6. infantrycak

infantrycak Mod. Staff Member

I think the agent is putting out a shopping ad and doubt he is actually willing to sign for vet minimum.

If he would actually sign for minimum his cap hit would be half of that. Something is up or teams would be pulling him in for a $500k cap hit.

7. False Start

False Start On # 69

It wont happen here, so just carry on.

8. Dutchrudder

Dutchrudder COOL BEANS!

Well, he's better than Bryant Johnson. Bring him in!

9. badboy

badboy Site Contributor

This. There is a "submarine" below the water somewhere.

10. drs23

drs23 Veteran

No more VIP Suite so back to the recliner
    One of the guys on NFL.com suggested that teams were possibly waiting until after the first week of the season to get out of having to guarantee a full season salary. Just food for thought.

11. GP

GP Go Texans!