No free agency for Texans as champs?

Discussion in 'Texans Talk' started by badboy, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. badboy

    badboy Site Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,577
    Likes Received:
    997
    Location:
    Clear Lake
    Help me out here, under the old CBA I think I recall teams in the playoffs were not allowed to participate in signing other teams' free agents, just their own. It did not apply this past off season of course but as Texans in playoffs does this apply? I researched new CBA but found nothing. Your help is appreciated.
     
  2. Kaiser Toro

    Kaiser Toro Native Mod

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    16,224
    Likes Received:
    1,159
    Location:
    Straight Outta Austin
    IIRC, the situation you were referring to had to do with the "rules" preceding the uncapped year of 2010. Not sure, but think that is what it was.
     
  3. ChampionTexan

    ChampionTexan Site Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,524
    Likes Received:
    709
    KT is correct - it was only for the uncapped year, and even then, only for the final 8 teams - not all playoff teams. The final 4 teams had more restrictions put on them than those that lost in the divisional round of the playoffs. It was basically to keep those that were already the top teams in the league from breaking the bank and going crazy since there was no longer going to be a cap.

    Here's a pretty good summary (if you even care any more) from PFT:
    LINK
     
  4. badboy

    badboy Site Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,577
    Likes Received:
    997
    Location:
    Clear Lake
    Thanks guys at least I wasn't going crazy.
     

Share This Page