Lestar Jean incompletion

Discussion in 'Texans Talk' started by NastyNate, Sep 10, 2012.

  1. NastyNate

    NastyNate I go kerplunk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Seabrook
    Any good link to a replay? From the stands it defnitely looked like a TD. Was sitting next to two Dolphins fans who even said the same. Thoughts for those that watched it on their huge HD screens?
     
  2. Grams

    Grams Subscribed Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    216
    Location:
    Humble, TX
    If it is the one I am thinking about - he dropped the ball when he landed.
     
  3. Vinny

    Vinny shiny happy fan Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    21,847
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    I think their decision was that his feet were in but the ball was bobbled/not controlled.
     
  4. Texn4life

    Texn4life Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3,080
    Likes Received:
    152
    It wasn't a catch. The ball came out when he hit the ground. The Calvin Johnson rule. But I did like the way he went up for the ball.
     
  5. TheEastwood

    TheEastwood Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    14
    The ball came out when he hit the ground. By rule the reciever has to maintain possession of the ball all the way through the catch. It was a good call by the Refs.
     
  6. ChrisG

    ChrisG Road Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    New York State
    My feeling is if a runner crosses the goal line and gets tackled and drops the ball it is still a TD. As soon as the ball crosses it is a TD. For passes once you have pocession and two feet down it should be a TD.
     
  7. EllisUnit

    EllisUnit Serving Koolaid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7,592
    Likes Received:
    407
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    DUDE the ground can not cause a fumble, incompletion. His knees were down both feet imbounds after having contact with the opponent. READ THE RULES !!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  8. gtexan02

    gtexan02 Working?

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    15,785
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    Boston
    The ground can absolutely cause an incompletion. You see a guy go up and then land with both feed down and immediately get blown up by a DB and the ball comes out, thats an incompletion, not a fumble
     
    Jackie Chiles and DocBar like this.


  9. Jackie Chiles

    Jackie Chiles Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Houston
    The ground can absolutely cause an incompletion. That was a no doubt incompletion because the ball came out immediately after hitting the ground. Dumb challenge. Also, you need more !!!!!!! when you make an incorrect assumption.
     
  10. Vinny

    Vinny shiny happy fan Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    21,847
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    the ground can certainly cause an incompletion.
     
  11. jaayteetx

    jaayteetx Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,583
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Albuquerque,NM
    Dude, you read the rules, we're not talking about a fumble here, we're talking about a reception, he has to "complete" the catch, like a previous poster said, think Calvin Johnson a year or two ago.
     
  12. Texn4life

    Texn4life Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    3,080
    Likes Received:
    152

    Are you serious? Or did you have some of what themedic had yesterday? Man, don't start this stuff after I made the statement that we have some of the most knowledgeable posters around. The rules clearly state that you have to complete control after you go down with the football catching it in the end zone. Again, its the Calvin Johnson rule. Does it make a ton of sense? Not quite, but it is what it is.
     
    Vinny likes this.
  13. EllisUnit

    EllisUnit Serving Koolaid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7,592
    Likes Received:
    407
    Location:
    Houston, TX

    Courtesy of the game day thread and Cloak. Now i would love to see on the replay where he at anytime bobled the ball......he had full control until hitting the ground.
     
    CloakNNNdagger likes this.
  14. Vinny

    Vinny shiny happy fan Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    21,847
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    you have to demonstrate control all the way down when catching the ball. Its a different rule if you run into the end zone with the ball.
     
  15. EllisUnit

    EllisUnit Serving Koolaid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    7,592
    Likes Received:
    407
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Did you see him bobble the ball at all on the way down ?
     
  16. Vinny

    Vinny shiny happy fan Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    21,847
    Likes Received:
    1,513
    if you hit the ground and the ball pops out it doesn't matter.
     
  17. thunderkyss

    thunderkyss Salem Poor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    39,274
    Likes Received:
    1,862
    Location:
    Texas
    Only if he's hit (touched) by a defender right? I think Jacoby had one last year, where he made the catch, got two feet down, then hit the ground & lost the ball. They still called it a TD.

    In that case, I think, it's like Arians first TD yesterday. As long as the ball crosses the goal line, it doesn't matter after that point.

    But if a defender touches (hits) the receiver, it's an extension of the play & possession isn't decided till after he maintains control.

    Correct me if I'm wrong.

    Ω
     
  18. GP

    GP Go Texans!

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    17,747
    Likes Received:
    1,573
    Location:
    TEXAS!
    The ref said the review was to see if both feet were in bounds.

    Then the review comes back, and the ref states that the receiver did not control the ball all the way through the reception.

    So let me ask something...now that all scoring plays are automatically reviewed, it doesn't matter what the coach or ref wants to look for (i.e. "two feet down inside the chalk line") the automatic review takes ALL things into consideration, and any one thing that overturns the TD ruling can be applied to the review in question. Right?

    Because at first, when the ref said the review was to check for two fee down inside the chalk line...I was thinking "We got this. His feet were down, but he didn't control the ball all the way through, but they're only looking at both feet being down...not the complete possession of the ball."

    So it doesn't matter of the ref makes an initial statement, does it? Whatever happens in the review booth, it can overrule what the ref states they're looking for.
     
  19. thunderkyss

    thunderkyss Salem Poor

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    39,274
    Likes Received:
    1,862
    Location:
    Texas
    Well, it looked like he wasn't touched by the defender. I think that was the difference, that the defender "touched" him. If not for that, it's a touchdown once his feet come down.
     
  20. NastyNate

    NastyNate I go kerplunk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Seabrook
    Aha, thanks. We couldn't really make out the continuation of the play on the big screen, was thinking that was the only way it could have possibly be ruled an incompletion. They need to change that damn rule, I feel it's ridiculous.
     

Share This Page