League defends JJ's TD catch.

Discussion in 'Texans Talk' started by 4Texans, Sep 22, 2009.

  1. 4Texans

    4Texans Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Texas
    PFT has an issue with the rule......

    http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2009/09/22/league-defends-touchdown-calls-for-texans-panthers/

     
  2. nero THE zero

    nero THE zero Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,749
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Spring
    I need to see the Murphy play.
     
  3. DerekLee1

    DerekLee1 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    121
    He had possession and his knee hit the ground. Then he got flipped over. Then his ELBOW hit the ground. THEN the ball fell loose. Not once, but twice he had possession in the end zone with a body part on the ground (remember Reggie Wayne's calf-on-the-ground catch?) before the ball fell loose. Easy call. That's a completion. Twice.
     
  4. HoustonFrog

    HoustonFrog Dallas Frog

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    12,421
    Likes Received:
    785
    Location:
    Dallas
    Well with their explanation he was down at the 2 or 1 then.
     
  5. BigBull17

    BigBull17 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    May 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,122
    Likes Received:
    228
    Location:
    Friendswood
    I agree. That was a great catch.
     
  6. DexmanC

    DexmanC Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    6,092
    Likes Received:
    480
    The ball broke the plane when his knee was on the ground. Touchdown.
     
  7. GuerillaBlack

    GuerillaBlack Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    Montrose
    But the ball was over the goalline.
     
  8. Blake

    Blake MMQB

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    11,225
    Likes Received:
    624
    Location:
    Spring
    You have a twisted way of interpreting information. Why would he be down at the 2 or the 1? The ball crossed the goal line when his knee touched the ground.
     


  9. RTP2110

    RTP2110 Thank You Andre

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,023
    Likes Received:
    131
    Location:
    Atascocita
    I was posting on another forum when that TD happened. I told them that JJ was down about 4 times before the ball came loose.
     
  10. DerekLee1

    DerekLee1 Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    121
    I'm not saying this is HoustonFrog or not, but this rule confuses a lot of people. The spot goes where the BALL is when the player is down, not WHERE THE PLAYER'S BODY TOUCHES THE GROUND.

    I didn't understand that rule for years, and I still know a lot of people that think the opposite is true.
     
  11. TEXANS84

    TEXANS84 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    7,480
    Likes Received:
    365
    Location:
    The Woodlands, TX
    The Murphy touchdown was insane to overturn. His catch looked more of a TD than Jacoby's.

    The league seriously messed up on the Raiders game.
     
  12. DocBar

    DocBar Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,159
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    I'm international
    I was pleasantly surprised when the review stood as a TD. IMO, it was dicey as to JJ having "possession" of the ball. I've seen calls overturned in similar situations.
     
  13. Double Barrel

    Double Barrel Modified Simian

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    33,499
    Likes Received:
    3,168
    Location:
    Onward, Upward, and back into the Trees
    Once the ball breaks the plane, it is a TD and what happens after that is irrelevant.

    I'd like to see the Raiders play for comparison, though. It sounds like the league screwed the pooch with that call, but I don't know until I see it.
     
  14. 4Texans

    4Texans Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Texas
    I was the same way. After seeing the first replay, I told my wife the TD would be over-ruled. Thankfully it went our way.
     
  15. HoustonFrog

    HoustonFrog Dallas Frog

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    12,421
    Likes Received:
    785
    Location:
    Dallas
    How am I twisted? Breaking the plane before you are down equals TD. We all know that. From the replays I kept seeing the other day he didn't look like he had yet. Announcers said the same. Just my interpretation. Lose the attitude.
     
  16. DocBar

    DocBar Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,159
    Likes Received:
    527
    Location:
    I'm international
    I don't believe that is the case on a catch IN the endzone. The receiver should have to maintain control until ruled down by contact. What saved JJ is the fact that he had possession when his knee hit the 1st time and was considered down by contact. The whole play looked iffy to me and I feel fortunate that it was ruled in our favor.
     
  17. nero THE zero

    nero THE zero Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,749
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Spring
    I found it on You Tube.
     
  18. Double Barrel

    Double Barrel Modified Simian

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    33,499
    Likes Received:
    3,168
    Location:
    Onward, Upward, and back into the Trees
    Exactly. The ball broke the plane and his knee made him officially down, so after that point it did not matter what happened.

    Thanks for the link.

    O.k., I remember that play live, and I do not see it as the same as the JJ catch, because he was never down. I don't see the comparisons that people are making. He never maintained possession, where JJ did maintain it with his knee touching the ground.

    I think the league was right on both calls. Good job refs.
     
  19. infantrycak

    infantrycak Mod. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    56,566
    Likes Received:
    3,015
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Seems to me Aeillo is spot on and the PFT guy isn't listening. Yes he had to maintain possession to the ground. He did once. The rule doesn't say he had to do it again.

    After watching that youtube video, that looks like the right call.

    No, he did have to maintain possession to the ground once, just not twice.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2009
  20. Double Barrel

    Double Barrel Modified Simian

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    33,499
    Likes Received:
    3,168
    Location:
    Onward, Upward, and back into the Trees
    yeah, I should have said that once the ball breaks the plane and possession is established, it is a TD and what happens after that is irrelevant.
     

Share This Page