Jacoby Jones TD "Explained" by Louis Murphy Rule?

Discussion in 'Texans Talk' started by CloakNNNdagger, Sep 26, 2009.

  1. CloakNNNdagger

    CloakNNNdagger Site Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    17,543
    Likes Received:
    1,613
    NFL rules are getting so convoluted, even the "big boys" have difficulties with their interpretation. Consideration for an NFL "Cliff's Notes" would be helpful, and possibly profitable for anyone who takes the challenge.

     
  2. Hooston Texan

    Hooston Texan All Pro

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    150
    No wonder Florio quit his lawyer gig. He can't read a rule.

    Here's the rule (as he quoted it):
    "If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete." (emphasis added)

    Florio's disagrees with the JJ call on theses grounds (again quoting Florio):
    "But, in our view, Jones wasn't on the ground long enough to actually be "on the ground." He only glanced the ground as part of a continuous action that resulted in him eventually landing on the ground, and losing the ball." (emphasis added)

    Nowhere does the rule he quotes say the receiver has to be "on the ground". The rule keys to what happens when the receiver "touches the ground". Once the receiver touches the ground, that's when you see if the ball comes out. Florio admits JJ's elbow and knee touched, but argues it wasn't down long enough. The only way he can make that argument is if he ignores the word "touches". Sorry, Mike, that doesn't fly. JJ's play was a catch by any rational reading of that rule.
     
  3. DexmanC

    DexmanC Hall of Fame

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    6,092
    Likes Received:
    480
    So, according to Florio:

    "Yeah, Jacoby was on the ground, but he wasn't REALLY on the ground."

    Does the rulebook contain the word "really" when it discusses the definition
    of a catch?
     
  4. ObsiWan

    ObsiWan Site Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    18,878
    Likes Received:
    1,253
    Location:
    League City, Tx
    So there's a time period associated with ground contact now? If a player's knee touches down "momentarily" on the way to the endzone as a result of contact by an opposing player, he's down at that moment. Same thing here. "Momentary" contact is all that is necessary.
     
  5. b0ng

    b0ng Ooops

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7,894
    Likes Received:
    613
    Anytime I agree with Mike Florio I want gargle with drain-o.
     

Share This Page