Cardinals Stadium/Grass

Discussion in 'The National Football League' started by TEXANS84, Jun 24, 2005.

1. TEXANS84

TEXANS84 Moderator Staff Member

So what do you guys think of Arizona's new stadium's grass system?

If you notice in the picture below, the stadiums grass will "roll out" in between games to achieve the maximum growing process:

[​IMG]

But, it eliminates an entire endzone of possible seating:

[​IMG]

So the question is: Would you sacrifice one side of the stadium, just so the grass stays in perfect shape? Or would you rather it be like Reliant where the grass in December becomes sub-par...but you still have a complete "bowl" stadium?

2. texasguy346

texasguy346 Mod Squad

It would seem to me that there would be a way where you could roll out a section of endzone seating even if it is only a lower level. Maybe have it on a large roller system similar to the field. Obviously I'm no engineer so I'm probably babbling on about nothing.

I think I prefer the Reliant option since it allows us to have the complete "bowl" stadium. If worse comes to worse we could always switch to field turf. I, for one, don't mind seeing a worn in football field as the season winds down.

3. Fiddy

Fiddy Hall of Fame

I'd rather have the seating (but the Cards never sell out games anyways)

4. YodAa

YodAa All Pro

Actually I think you do have a good idea except only problem I can see is that in the pictures theres a wall right there that would block it, but if not roll it maybe they could somehow instead lift the seats up and have the field roll out.

5. JustBonee

JustBonee Hall of Fame

I find it ironic that the desert dwellers in Maricopa County desire a natural grass stadium floor to begin with. The landscaping of choice around Phoenix and Scottsdale is cacti and palms and sand and rocks. .. maybe it's the intrigue of looking at something 'different' .... and GREEN.

(I lived about 1 ¾ miles from the new stadium location)

6. Speedy

Speedy Yeller Dweller