Bill Kollar Hospitalized Before Game

Discussion in 'Texans Talk' started by HOU-TEX, Nov 12, 2012.

1. HOU-TEX

HOU-TEX Ah, Football!

I didn't even hear about this last night. Anyone?

A. Smith called plays on the field

http://profootballtalk.nbcsports.com/2012/11/12/texans-win-without-defensive-line-coac/

Hope he gets better

2. steelbtexan

steelbtexan Hall of Fame

Get well Bill

Great job A.Smith. The DL didn't miss a beat considering the weather.

3. GP

GP Go Texans!

If he was hospitalized with a blood clot, he might be there most of this week.

The blood "thinning" drugs a hospital gives such a patient do not just work in 24 or 48 hours and you go home. If he was hospitalized, they determined it was enough to need a slow recovery time.

Otherwise, the clot breaks apart too quickly and that's when it speeds its way to the lungs and can become a pulmonary embolism...which is fatal in sometimes a matter of seconds.

I worked as a sonogram tech, scanning carotid arteries for stenosis and leg veins for deep vein thrombosis (DVT). Stressful job. Didn't last but about 8 months. LOL.

4. CloakNNNdagger

CloakNNNdagger Site Contributor

It is possible that he developed the blood clot while sitting on the plane for a couple of hours without moving around. It is unfortunate that this phenomenon happens more than most people are realize. In fact in ~5% of air travelers. This becomes more of a risk when a person has already spent time sitting in a car on the way to the airport and sitting at the airport waiting to board.

5. Lurvinator11

Lurvinator11 Hall of Fame