Go Back   Houston Texans Message Board & Forum - TexansTalk.com > Football Talk > College Football & the 2014 NFL Draft
Home Forums Register FAQDonate Automatic Monthly Contribution Members List Mark Forums Read

College Football & the 2014 NFL Draft The future stars of the NFL

Old 04-24-2006   #1
Snapple
Veteran

Default Guys you'd like to see the Texans pick up in the 7th round or as undrafted FAs

The seventh round pick I think is for taking chances on guys who the experts think have little pro potential, but are worth a shot anyway. Some great players weren't even drafted and ended up being stars, like Kurt Warner, Jake Delhomme, Antonio Gates, and Priest Holmes.

Are there any graduating players that you know of, that you would like to take a chance on in the seventh round or pick up after the draft if nobody takes them? I don't think there are any right or wrong answers here. Just some guys that you like.

I have a few.

Drew Olson, QB, UCLA - I'm not a draft expert, but this guy threw 34 TDs and only 6 INTs last year. That alone I think makes him worth a peek. He should've been a Heisman candidate in my opinion, and I think he's got great leadership ability. He headed a lot of dramatic comeback wins for UCLA.

Bruce Eugene, QB, Grambling - I don't know if anyone saw this guy, but he is a BIG GUY. He's a QB, but he's like 280 pounds. Despite that, somehow he's actually pretty mobile, a great leader, and he broke a ton of passing records at Grambling. He has experience. He's just a bit raw for pro offenses and really fat.

Domata Peko, DT, Michigan State - Another big dude. This guy was a great run-stuffer at Michigan State. I don't know if anyone remembers, but last year, he returned a fumble about 80 yards for a TD. What makes it memorable is that he weighs at least 300 pounds and still managed to waddle all the way down the field.