Go Back   Houston Texans Message Board & Forum - TexansTalk.com > The Great Fans of the Houston Texans > Texans Talk
Home Forums Register FAQDonate Automatic Monthly Contribution Members List Mark Forums Read

Texans Talk Football talk only please. Keep it to the game, the players, the coaches and management.

Old 03-27-2006   #1
JayCee
Veteran

Rep Power: 14 JayCee could be on the next Madden coverJayCee could be on the next Madden coverJayCee could be on the next Madden coverJayCee could be on the next Madden coverJayCee could be on the next Madden coverJayCee could be on the next Madden cover
Default Texan fan from NZ

Hi Guys,

I am very new to the wonderful world of Football / NFL. I started following the Texans last year and the Texas Longhorns. Must admit, so far I have enjoyed college football more than the professional league.

I am planning on playing at the end of year in New Zealandís domestic league.
(http://eteamz.active.com/nz-american-football/)
Canít wait to start playing!
Although I have no idea what position I would play yet

I just have a few questions to help clarify my understanding of the game. The main thing I have trouble with is a lot of the positions to me seem to be the same. For example centre back and safety, what makes a good centre back and what makes a good safety?

What makes a good guard and what makes a good OT? Am I right in saying the left tackle is the most important in the offensive line if the quarterback is right handed because it covers his weak side?

Also, is the weak side the blind side of the quarter back? So when I see someone stated as a weak side linebacker they are talking about right hand side linebacker if the quarterback is right handed? So what makes a good weak side linebacker and a good strong side linebacker?

Sorry for all the questions guys Ė but Iím dead keen to get up to speed before the next season of the NFL kicks off.

Go Texans!
JayCee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2006   #2
HardKnockTexan