Hall of Fame
Join Date: May 2004
Section: Bullpen/ 636
Rep Power: 29307
Compensatory draft pick rule clarification
So, the Texans will not get rewarded compensation if a team signs Walter because he was waived, unlike Casey who played out his contract.
What about the team that signs Walter? In other words, if a team signs a free agent that was waived, does that signing count against them when the compensatory picks are awarded.
Here's an example:
Let's say the Texans lose Quin and Casey in free agency to deals that would net 5th round picks next year
However, they have one significant signing: Michael Huff to a 4 year and $20 million deal. Huff was cut so the Raiders get no compensation. However, would the Texans lose one of the two 5th rounders they would get from the loss of Quin and Casey due to their signing of Huff... or, do the Texans still receive both picks?
obsessive, passionate coverage of our beloved Texans at : Texans Bull Blog
|Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)|