Thread: Pats/Panthers
View Single Post
Old 11-20-2013   #18
Blake
MMQB
 
Blake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Spring
Section: 551
Posts: 10,797
Rep Power: 75432 Blake is a quality contributor and well respectedBlake is a quality contributor and well respectedBlake is a quality contributor and well respectedBlake is a quality contributor and well respectedBlake is a quality contributor and well respectedBlake is a quality contributor and well respectedBlake is a quality contributor and well respectedBlake is a quality contributor and well respectedBlake is a quality contributor and well respectedBlake is a quality contributor and well respectedBlake is a quality contributor and well respected
Default Re: Pats/Panthers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutchrudder View Post
That's great for you, but that's not how the rule works. I've seen this happen before where a CB is called for a PI while the ball is in the air, but a safety undercuts the pass in front of the players, so the flag is waved off. It's uncommon for sure, but not unheard of.

The distance doesn't really matter, it's just that the ball is tipped/intercepted before it gets to where the receiver is. Once the ball is in the air, you cannot have defensive holding or illegal contact, it can only be pass interference. If they had called holding or illegal contact, then the flag couldn't have been waved off.
Talk about "thats not how the rule works." There is NOTHING in the rulebook that says if the pass is intercepted then PI is waived off.

The only time PI is void is once the ball is touched. And as I previously said, the pass wasnt touched until well after the LB was commiting PI on the TE.

Quote:
Note 3: Pass interference for both teams ends when the pass is touched.
http://www.nfl.com/rulebook/passinterference
Blake is offline   Reply With Quote