Originally Posted by keyser
Not trying to readjudicate old stuff (and I'd like to have just forgotten that play), but I noticed something this time that I've never noticed before - my focus has always been on the drop rather than the aftermath. Is it legal for #29 to tackle JJ from behind after he muffs the punt? I honestly don't know how the rules apply at that point, but it just seems weird to me that someone is allowed to wrap someone up from behind and takle them - I didn't know that that was allowed by any player at any point (but maybe it is in this situation)? I'm sure this has been discussed before, but I missed it, and am curious if that was legal...
Normally no, it would not be legal. Jacoby actually got bailed out, and I mean BAILED out, on a muff against Tennessee because the guy tackled him immediately after the muff which technically interfered with his ability to field the ball. Have to wait for the muff to hit the ground before you make contact with the player or the ball. 15 yards tacked on. Luckiest break ever. Difference is this ball had already bounced. You can't tell from that gif though.