Originally Posted by IDEXAN
I'm confused to because he was supposedly flagged for the "defensely" receiver rule, but the penalty seems not to have been leveled for that but instead "helmet-to-helment" contact which is different ?
The truth is it was a tremendous play by Harris even though he and the team were penalized by the capricious officiating of the refs.
The call was for hitting a defenseless player high in the head or neck area.
It's difficult to see the contact clearly to tell whether the helmets were in contact, but Harris definitely was going upward in motion with the helmet leading toward that area. But the helmets didn't even have to be in contact for the call to be made.
If Harris came a little later, the call could still be made, but not to a defenseless player. It will be up to the ref to "decide" whether the hit was high enough. Now since the offensive player is no longer in a defenseless position, the ref might be inclined not to deem it a high hit, especially with Harris trying to make a wrap up tackle rather than launching himself with intention to inflict some hurting.