Originally Posted by 76Texan
You're the lawyer , so I think you are very well qualified to read the rules, but also the reason for the rule.
The rule was made "supposedly" to protect a defenseless player.
So I would think as long as that guy is qualified as such, he should be "protected" by that rule.
Sorry, when I said 'wrong call' I didn't mean their shouldn't have been a penalty, I meant worded it incorrectly. But I was corrected when someone said they're trying to call the specific penalty rather than a generic 'helmet to helmet.'
My whole point was Harris knew better and shouldn't have made the hit, but damn, if he had gotten there half a second later it would have been a game changer (assuming there is still a fumble).