Originally Posted by NitroGSXR
Well... what I meant was that I have seen referees call it a illegal helmet to helmet contact before. They called this one a defenseless receiver. Why is there variation in the wording of penalties that apparently mean the same thing?
I think they are getting away from the helmet to helmet language & being more specific. Helmet to helmet is not a penalty unless it's against a defenseless receiver, QB, & there are some other extenuating circumstances like launching yourself into a player, or using the crown of your helmet.
Helmet to helmet happens all the time & imo, can't be a penalty in & of itself.