Originally Posted by Yankee_In_TX
So it sounds like what I have been saying is correct - if Harris got there .5 seconds later probably no penalty because the player would have been 'set?'
I don't know about .5 seconds later, but if the receiver would have made a football move (I don't know if that language is in the rules), or clearly made the transition from defenseless receiver to runner, that hit would not have drawn a flag.
But it's a judgement call. The first one in this video
is clear, the receiver is still in the act of catching the ball. He should not be hit above the shoulders. The second one, the flag is thrown by two officials, but it appears to me that the receiver has made the transition from receiver to runner. It appears he lowers his head to protect himself.