Originally Posted by Fiddler
It's not about "not hitting" him. You can hit him just like any other receiver in the act of catching the ball.
You can not hit a player in the head if he is in the act of catching the ball.
Hits to the head are illegal to defenseless players.
Had he caught the ball and took a step, there would have been no penalty on Brandon Harris, because the "runner" has the opportunity to brace himself, tuck his head, or roll with the blow.
I get what you're saying and the refs got the call right on the field. But I'm just saying I think they should change this rule because PRs in actuality are not "defenseless". They can call a fair catch to avoid a hit. They can protect themselves if they want to.