Originally Posted by Fiddler
The defenseless receiver rule is about hits to the head. You can hit a runner in the head, even helmet to helmet.
Yes, we have to allow the receiver to catch it clean, fair catch or not. That's the Halo rule. That's the rule that saved us on one of Jacoby's muffed returns.
If he catches & takes a step, we could hit him in the head, even helmet to helmet. But in the act, Brandon Harris (<--- really, he was in the game) hit him straight up, head to head, face mask to face mask.
No, the defenseless player rule was what operated yesterday. Their receiver did not call for the fair catch so that rule had no application. #4 on the list of definitions of defenseless players is a player in the act of fielding a kick or a punt. Harris hit him in the head as he was fielding the ball. If Harris had hit him in the chest it would have been a muff and we could have jumped on it.