Originally Posted by infantrycak
"In the act" of receiving a punt or kick is defenseless. Unfortunately the NFL doesn't define "in the act." Apparently you have to let him catch it clean and then slobber knock him.
The call was within the boundaries of the rule but I agree with the earlier post - if you don't want to get hit on a kick then call for a fair catch. The call was within the rules though.
The defenseless receiver rule is about hits to the head. You can hit a runner in the head, even helmet to helmet.
Yes, we have to allow the receiver to catch it clean, fair catch or not. That's the Halo rule. That's the rule that saved us on one of Jacoby's muffed returns.
If he catches & takes a step, we could hit him in the head, even helmet to helmet. But in the act, Brandon Harris (<--- really, he was in the game) hit him straight up, head to head, face mask to face mask.