Originally Posted by dream_team
The play where KJax fell in coverage... where Chris Collinsworth was making a big deal about Marshall being wide open and Campbell missed it.
Is that a legal play? Just wondering what the rules are there. It looked like zone coverage and KJ was sitting in his zone, then Marshall simply just runs him over. Legal?
Originally Posted by 76Texan
Anybody remember when that play happened; I'd like to go back and watch it.
In the meantime, here are the rules:
Actions that constitute offensive pass interference include but are not limited to:
(a) Blocking downfield by an offensive player prior to the ball being touched.
(b) Initiating contact with a defender by shoving or pushing off thus creating a separation in an attempt to catch a pass.
(c) Driving through a defender who has established a position on the field.
Originally Posted by Corrosion
Believe there were ~8minutes left in the final frame.
If its within 5 yards its a legal chuck. Outside of that five yards .... Its not.
I think it was probably beyond 5 yards .... tho not sure how far , Maybe Marshall sold the contact being mutual or it was borderline on the 5 yards and not called.
I found the play.
It was with 4:38 to go in the game.
KJ lined up 5 yards from the LOS and backpedaling.
Marshall made contact with KJax 9 yards from the LOS and pushed him off his feet, as in:
(c) Driving through a defender who has established a position on the field
Collingsworth rambled too much and forgot the situation.
IMO, Campbell understood that if he threw the ball to Marshall, a late flag might have been thrown so he checked the ball down.
It was a one-yard loss for the Bears anyway; perhaps the refs thought the Texans were happy enough with the results so they never pulled out the flag.