Originally Posted by HoustonFrog
Nitpicking, but Not completely true. The hand is the only thing that doesn't count if it hits first. The rule is a) possession and b) any part of the body except hand. So if his fingers were in and his rear hit like it did, then catch.
Item 3: End Zone Catches.��If a player controls the ball while in the end zone, both feet, or any part of his body
other than his hands, must be completely on the ground before losing control, or the pass is incomplete.
You know, just after I posted this I realized i should have expanded to include other parts of the body. I got caught up with Madden's old "an elbow equals two feet" thing.
The bottom line is a finger or hand in bounds, like a toe or a foot, isn't enough to establish you in bounds. But a finger, hand, toe, or foot OUT of bounds is enough to render you out of bounds. So in this case, it wasn't really a close call. He had fingers out of bounds so he was out of bounds.