View Single Post
Old 10-15-2012   #25
Luv_ya_blue
1%er
 
Luv_ya_blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Beaumont, TX
Age: 39
Posts: 3,891
Rep Power: 21296 Luv_ya_blue is a quality contributor and well respectedLuv_ya_blue is a quality contributor and well respectedLuv_ya_blue is a quality contributor and well respectedLuv_ya_blue is a quality contributor and well respectedLuv_ya_blue is a quality contributor and well respectedLuv_ya_blue is a quality contributor and well respectedLuv_ya_blue is a quality contributor and well respectedLuv_ya_blue is a quality contributor and well respectedLuv_ya_blue is a quality contributor and well respectedLuv_ya_blue is a quality contributor and well respectedLuv_ya_blue is a quality contributor and well respected
Default Re: WTF is the deal with the refs letting GB hold on EVERY PLAY!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by infantrycak View Post
Maybe you need to read the rule - the official NFL rule (p. 79:

Hetook one step and jumped - not clearly running forward.
Obvious attempt to block - seems your never raised his arms would argue against that.
He was very close to one yard from the LOS which might nullify the entire rule.
Yes, he moved FORWARD and jumped, AND he came down on players.
And he jumped...why exactly? To signal the beer man? Ridiculous.
He jumped so as to block the kick--which is (hopefully) why he was in there. He came down on top of other players in front of him.
Is this really so difficult? No it's not. You're just being your typical crotchity old woman self.

Maybe you need to watch the replay.
He jumped and came down on top of another player.
The rule is there to protect the safety of players.
Why didn't he raise his hands?
  • Because he was scared of falling...
  • because he was scared of heights...
  • because he didn't think he could jump that high and surprised himself...
  • or (my personal favorite) because he's a flippin' moron that got a stupid penalty at a stupid time of the game.
If you're going to take the chance on getting a "judgment" or "tippy-tap" call from an official, then don't be stupid enough to take the chance in the first place. Jump up and then back down. That's the way the rule is written. He didn't.

And as far as where he was on the line of scrimmage when he jumped...that's completely irrelevant. The rule states where he originally lined up.

I'm sure that everyone in the stadium that saw Barwin jump up and over the pile thought "Why is he jumping so high? Oh that's right, it a kick attempt, but what was he doing so high?" I'm sure that nobody thought that he was actually trying to block the kick.
__________________

Special Thanks to False Start for the awesome sig! U Rock!
Luv_ya_blue is offline   Reply With Quote