View Full Version : Quick question about kickoff to end Dallas/Arizona game
12-25-2010, 11:04 PM
Since the ball was so close to the sideline, could Newman have stepped out of bounds and then picked up the ball, triggering the "out of bound kickoff" rule? Common sense tells me "of course not", but life has taught me that common sense isn't usually considered in the rule making process.
STEEL BLUE TEXANS
12-26-2010, 12:14 AM
Yes. I remember the exact same thing happening in a Ravens vs Redskins game a few years back.
12-26-2010, 02:28 AM
As long as the ball has not been touched by a player, yes you can. In fact, if he has one foot out of bounds while catching the ball in bounds, it is still illegal procedure.
vBulletin® v3.7.2, Copyright ©2000-2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.