View Full Version : Suh edges Gerhart for AP honor

12-23-2009, 06:37 PM
NEW YORK -- Nebraska Cornhuskers defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh bulled past the guys who play the glamour positions and proved you don't have to score touchdowns or toss passes to be the player of the year.

Spurred by a dominant performance against Texas in the Big 12 title game, Suh became the first defensive player voted The Associated Press College Football Player of the Year on Tuesday.

Suh had already won two defensive player of the year awards -- the Nagurski and Bednarik -- and two for best lineman -- the Lombardi and Outland. He also finished fourth in the Heisman Trophy voting.

"Just being recognized as player of the year is a huge accomplishment," Suh said in a recent phone interview from Lincoln, Neb.

He received 26 of a possible 59 votes from AP college football poll voters to edge Stanford running back Toby Gerhart, who received 20 votes.

Heisman winner Mark Ingram finished tied for third with Texas quarterback Colt McCoy, each getting six votes. Florida quarterback Tim Tebow received one vote.

Since the AP started handing out a player of the year award in 1998, all the winners have been quarterbacks or running backs.


12-23-2009, 07:43 PM
Well deserved ....