PDA

View Full Version : An example of the red zone woe

76Texan
10-16-2007, 11:36 PM
Now, Im no football expert. I would like just to bring up a certain play like this one;
and Ill ask our fans, especially those with the game film to review to see if you like it.
(I only have PC game film that is not exceptionally clear, so I may have missed something.
But let me try anyway.)

Our first drive. Were moving the ball downfield nicely.
1-3-JAC 3 (12:02) 30-A.Green up the middle to JAC 4 for -1 yards (95-P.Spicer).

S

X X X2

CB X X X X 95 X1
C
WR LT LG RG RT TE1 TE2
QB

FB

RB

Texans line up in a variation of the Power I.
Ball on the left hash mark.
Double TE on the right side, close to the right hash mark.
Single WR on the left between the number and the left field line.
QB behind C on the left hash mark.
FB Leach directly behind, between the 7 & 8 yd line, a little more than 4 yd behind LOS.
RB Green directly behind on the 11 yd line, more than 8 yd behind LOS.

CB lines up directly across WR
DE (95) and X1 line up across TEs, with #95 slightly inside TE1, & X1 slightly outside TE2.
The other 4 defensive players across LOS are actually much more spread out.
From left, one outside Salaam. Next across from Salaam. Third between Pitts & Flanagan (closer to C). Fourth (next to #95) just outside Weary.
Winston is between him & #95... something like that.

Ball snapped. WR engages CB straight up.
Both TEs engage blocker directly in front (#95 & X1) (supposedly.)
All O-linemen try to push forward.
Leach runs straight up, fake an exchange with QB MS (kinda), then veer just a bit left of the hash mark to block.

What do you think would happen?
Where should Green go?
Why a one yard loss on the play?

The key here is TE1 & Defensive player X2
TE1 completely missed #95 Paul Spicer.
X2 bites to the inside.
Green's best chance is to the outside on the right (I believe that was an option),