PDA

View Full Version : Chronic: Texans' Robinson acting as mentor for rookie Bennett

Texans34Life
06-01-2007, 02:13 AM
http://www.chron.com/disp/story.mpl/sports/4853086.html

"Fred was one of those guys I mentored in college, and I'm trying to do the same thing here," Robinson said. "I remember when I was a rookie, AG (Aaron Glenn) was out here helping me out after practice. I just try to come out here and watch the younger guys and give them any pointers I can because I once was in that situation."

It's the first time Robinson has really felt comfortable in that role as a Texan, and Bennett is appreciative. The fourth-round pick in April's draft is constantly on Robinson's heels. Bennett asks questions on the field and in the locker room. He sits next to Robinson in all team meetings, mimicking how Robinson takes notes and watches film.

The coaches have noticed Bennett shadowing Robinson, and they like it.

"If Fred pays attention, he can learn a lot from Rob," Texans defensive backs coach Jon Hoke said. "A lot of the positive things like how to be a pro, how to take notes, how to work those types of things."

Unlike early in his career at South Carolina, the Texans' coaches are intrigued by Bennett's size. At 6-1, 195 pounds, Bennett has quick hands and good speed.

He broke up 24 passes and had nine interceptions during his college career. If he continues improving, Bennett could challenge Jamar Fletcher for the job at nickel back this season.

"He's long and he's tall, and its hard to find corners over 6 foot in this league that still have the feet and stuff to play out there," Texans coach Gary Kubiak said. "In our division, playing against a bunch of three wides, we need a player like that. He's been impressive.

Mr teX
06-01-2007, 09:47 AM
Really, did none of you see this coming the minute he was picked out of SC?

Marcus
06-01-2007, 10:36 AM