PDA

View Full Version : What do you guys think of Payne starting at DT?

Texans34Life
09-04-2006, 04:48 PM
Texans | Payne earns starting spot
Mon, 4 Sep 2006 11:18:43 -0700

John McClain, of the Houston Chronicle, reports Houston Texans DL Seth Payne has earned a starting spot at defensive tackle.

Is he going to be an upgrade over Robaire Smith in this 4-3 defense?

Dr. Toro
09-04-2006, 04:57 PM
Always been a big Payne fan. Every game I had the pleasure to attend he stood out to me. I think our D-Line's gonna be just fine.

LORK 88
09-04-2006, 05:08 PM
He works to hard to not be an upgrade in the 4-3 defense. Our aggresive style of defense will benefit him more than it would Robaire.

Dr. Toro
09-04-2006, 05:13 PM
Agreed, LORK. I'm no expert on the finer points of DL play and I liked Robaire, but Payne always showed a lot of fire and energy out there, getting penetration, etc.

Maddict5
09-04-2006, 05:13 PM

John McClain, of the Houston Chronicle, reports Houston Texans DL Seth Payne has earned a starting spot at defensive tackle.

megan manfull will be pissed that john broke this story...especially as it was her that broke the controversial story that he was move from NT to DT....

Dr. Toro
09-04-2006, 05:21 PM
McClain is saying the Texans cut Smith because he was too pricey to be a backup and they favored Payne for the run stuffing. McClain says this move also means you can count on Weaver and Williams moving to the inside on passing downs. Don't know if thats news to anyone.

jerek
09-04-2006, 05:22 PM
Don't have a problem with it. He's better than Robaire IMO. He'll never blow you away but he's plenty sufficient.

nunusguy
09-04-2006, 05:24 PM
IMO most agree his "natural" position is playing nose tackle in the 3-4.
He's probably only an average 4-3 lineman, but is always hustling and
is the consumate team player.
Apparently the coaches felt he was Robaires equal, though I was always under the impression that Smith was rated higher. But financially keeping