PDA

View Full Version : Was Deandre Hopkins' TD reception an incomplete pass?

avb
08-12-2013, 04:32 PM
Deandre Hopkins made a heck of a catch, and everyone knows he made a clean grab. But the defender knocked the ball out of his hands while he was still on the ground before he could get up. Does the Calvin Johnson rule apply here if it was a real game? Since it was preseason the outcome didn't matter but at least we were able to see his talents.

I apologize if this has already been discussed. This is my first time to the forum in many months. Go Texans!

Rey
08-12-2013, 04:38 PM
Ball was knocked out after he had already caught the ball, and maintained possession through the fall.

TD.

Calvin Johnson put the ball on the ground which could be see as using the ground to secure possession. Not the same thing.

Blake
08-12-2013, 04:49 PM
I considered this question right after the catch. I say catch with plays like this because DH caught the ball in the field of play and took across goal line. CJ play and others where they must maintain ball throughout catch and to the ground start and end already in the end zone.

ThaJokaa
08-12-2013, 04:49 PM
It's a catch, He secured the ball in the air, stepped into the Endzone, fell, and THEN the was knocked lose. Had he caught it, and the ball was knocked loose as he was falling to the ground or got loose as he landed then he failed to control the ball and he didn't "complete" the catch so it would've been ruled as incomplete. At least that's how I see its someone correct me if I'm wrong...

HOU-TEX
08-12-2013, 04:50 PM
No...

Playoffs
08-12-2013, 05:26 PM
http://cdn2.sbnation.com/imported_assets/1747621/hopkins.gif

http://northsiderotary.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/ref.jpg

Fili
08-12-2013, 11:00 PM
In the gif you can see DH securing the ball with his right hand then attempts to hold the ball up to show that he caught the ball. He switched the ball from his right to left hand.

Hervoyel
08-12-2013, 11:24 PM